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The state of Connecticut provides several veteran benefits. This section offers a brief description of 
each of the following benefits. 

 Housing Benefits 
 Financial Assistance Benefits 
 Employment Benefits 
 Education Benefits 
 Other State Veteran Benefits 

Connecticut Veteran Housing Programs 

Connecticut Veterans' Home 
The Department has a health care center with a capacity of 250 beds, a 50-bed substance abuse 
recovery program and a 500-bed Residential Program.  Professional services are provided by staff 
physicians, Advanced Practice Registered Nurses, OT, PT, RT, dieticians and social workers are 
augmented by community specialists, as well as, networking to local VA and major area hospitals 
when appropriate. By Statute, veterans who are able to pay in whole or in part for programs or 
services determined by the applicable fee schedule will receive a monthly bill for such services 
rendered.  
 
 
State Income Tax Exemptions 

 
Connecticut veterans receiving federally taxable military retirement pay are eligible for an exemption 
from the state income tax. Connecticut applies a 50 percent exemption from the state income tax on 
federally taxable military retirement pay to members of the U.S. Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, 
Coast Guard, and Army and Air National Guard.  
Property Tax Exemptions  
Veterans, who have ninety days of wartime service, including Merchant Marines, who served during 
WWII, are eligible for a $1,500 exemption for property tax purposes (e.g., real property or 
automobiles). You have the option to choose to apply this exemption to your real estate or automobile 
tax. Certain veterans, who do not own real property or a motor vehicle, may be eligible for a tax 
refund if they are leasing a motor vehicle. 
Veterans below a certain income level and/or service connected disabled veterans are eligible for 
additional property tax exemptions (up to $10,000 for paraplegics). Surviving spouses of veterans 
may also be eligible for this benefit. Contact your municipality's Tax Assessor Officer for specific 
details. 

Connecticut Financial Assistance Benefits 

The Soldiers', Sailors' and Marines' Fund 
The Soldiers', Sailors' and Marines' Fund (SSMF) is a state fund administered by the American 
Legion for the purpose of providing temporary financial assistance for veterans with ninety days of 
wartime service, who are disabled, unemployed or for sickness. An applicant must be a resident of 
the State of Connecticut at the time of application for benefits. SSMF provides funding for emergency 
needs such as clothing, food, medical and surgical aid, and general care and relief.  For further 
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information please call 860-296-0719. 
 
Visit the Connecticut Department of Veterans Affairs website for contact information and benefits 
assistance. 

Connecticut State Employment Benefits 

Employment Assistance 
An employee who leaves any public authority or public agency to enter the armed forces can be 
reinstated in their former position. Veterans must reapply within ninety days following receipt of a 
certificate from the armed forces confirming satisfactory service. 
For classified competitive state exams, a wartime veteran eligible for or receiving VA compensation 
receives an additional ten points. A wartime veteran not eligible for VA compensation or pension 
receives five additional points. A spouse of a qualified veteran is also eligible for additional 
points. However, to qualify, the veteran or spouse must achieve a passing grade on the examination 
score. If an honorably discharged veteran has served in a military action for which he/she received, or 
is entitled to receive, a campaign badge or expeditionary medal, he/she qualifies for five additional 
points if they receive a passing grade on their examination. 
On a competitive municipal examination, a wartime veteran eligible for VA compensation or a 
pension, who has received a passing score, receives ten additional points. 
A wartime veteran not eligible for compensation or a pension, who has received a passing score, 
receives five additional points. 
 
Visit the Connecticut Department of Veterans Affairs website for contact information and benefits 
assistance. 

Connecticut Veteran Education Benefits 

Educational Benefit/Tuition Waivers 
State law provides that tuition fees at state educational institutions be waived for certain veterans and 
certain dependents. 
 Approved institutions for this benefit are: 

 State Regional Community/Technical Colleges 
 State Universities 

 In order to be eligible for a tuition waiver, one must: 

 Be a veteran who served 90 days of active duty during a period of war as defined in; and 
 Have been accepted to an approved institution; and 
 Be a Connecticut resident at the time of acceptance to the institution. 
 A veteran's dependents can also qualify for tuition waiver if the veteran is declared missing in 

action while serving in the armed forces after January 1, 1960. 

 
High School Diplomas and Veterans of WWII 
Local Boards of Education may award diplomas to those WWII veterans who did not receive them 
when they left high school before graduation for military service. 
Visit the Connecticut Department of Veterans Affairs website for contact information and benefits 
assistance. 
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Other Connecticut State Veteran Benefits 

Burial in Connecticut's Veterans' Cemetery 
Any veteran discharged with other than a dishonorable discharge is eligible for burial in a state 
veterans' cemetery. Spouses are also eligible for this benefit. 
 
MotorVehicles Waiver 
State law provides for free motor vehicle registration and special plates to former prisoners of war and 
recipients of the Medal of Honor. 
 
Veterans, who were state residents at the time of induction and who apply within two years of 
receiving an honorable discharge, are exempt from paying for an operator's license and examination 
fees for one licensing period. 
 
State law also provides that fees may be waived for the following registration items, subject to a 
formal determination by the Department of Motor Vehicles: 

 Special License plates for disabled veterans 
 Special fee license plates for certain disabilities (loss of use or loss of limb, or blind) 

handicapped and overtime parking. 
 If receiving auto grant from the VA or Medal of Honor recipient, exemption from registration 

fees. 

Retirement 
Members of The Municipal Employees' Retirement System, who leave municipal employment to enter 
the armed forces while the United States is at war, engaged in hostilities, or during national 
emergencies and are re-employed by the municipality within six months of discharge, are credited 
with the period of service as though they had been continuously employed. This six-month limitation 
can be extended due to service-related disability. 
Visit the Connecticut Department of Veterans Affairs website for contact information and benefits 
assistance. 
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