All Town buildings and offices will be closed Monday, May 29th in observance of Memorial Day.
The Lebanon Historical Society was chartered in 1965 and its Board and members collected objects and documents, organized educational programs, and conducted genealogical and other historical research without a home base.
In 1998, the LHS built the Lebanon Historical Society Museum and Visitor Center (LHSM)—a 7,500 square foot, architect-designed complex of three buildings, located adjacent to the historic Lebanon Green. The Museum houses a visitor center, two exhibition galleries, a multipurpose room for community educational programs, and a Research Center, Library and Archives.
For more information on the many historical sites to visit in Lebanon, please see the Lebanon Historical Society Museum and Visitor Center website by clicking here.
Lebanon's Colonial Cemeteries
Some of the finest examples of the early stone carving tradition unique to eastern Connecticut can be found in the old burying grounds in Lebanon. The Trumbull Cemetery contains many examples by Obadiah Wheeler, considered the greatest of the rural carvers in the area. The Exeter Cemetery is primarily a 19th century cemetery although there are several stones dating back to the 1720's. Carvers include the Bozrah Devil, Collins, Upswept-Wing Carver, and Haskins. The Goshen Cemetery contains the best work of another Lebanon carver, John Huntington as well as more stones by the Bozrah Devil, Obadiah Wheeler, the Mannings, Upswept-Wing Carver, and Collins.
While the cemeteries are open to the public, only photographs of headstones are permitted. No rubbings are allowed of the headstone as they may be easily damaged.