Renters Rebate Tax Relief Program
State law provides a reimbursement program for Connecticut renters who are elderly or totally disabled, and whose incomes do not exceed certain limits. Persons renting an apartment or room, or living in cooperative housing or a mobile home may be eligible for this program. Renters' rebates can be up to $900 for married couples and $700 for single persons. The renters' rebate amount is based on a graduated income scale and the amount of rent and utility payments (excluding telephone) made in the calendar year prior to the year in which the renter applies.
The filing period for the Renters Rebate Program is April 1st - October 1st
If you would like to file in person, please make an appointment by calling 860-642-6141
Recipient or spouse must be 65 years of age or older, or be 50 years of age or older and the surviving spouse of a renter who at the time of the renter's death had qualified and was entitled to tax relief provided such spouse was domiciled with such renter at the time of the renters’ death, or 18 years of age or older and eligible to receive Social Security Disability benefits. Must meet a one year state residency requirement. Grants are based upon income requirements shown in CGS Section 12-170e.
Applicants must provide the following documentation to apply:
- Social Security 1099, TPQY or benefit verification letter from the preceding year
- Income tax return, or copies of all income received from the preceding year
- Rental receipts showing amount paid by applicant from the preceding year
- Utility receipts showing the amount paid by applicant for electricity, gas, water, and fuel from the preceding year
Statutory References: Connecticut General Statutes (CGS): Sections 12-170d, 12-170e, 12-170f, 12-170g, 12-170h, 12-170bb and Public Act 13-234
Regulatory References: Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies: §12-170f-1 and §12-170f-2.
|RENTERS REBATE APPLICATION||106.14 KB|