LEBANON BOARD OF EDUCATION LEBANON MIDDLE SCHOOL LIBRARY MEDIA CENTER March 26, 2012 ~ SPECIAL SESSION ~7:00 P.M. MINUTES

ATTENDANCE

PRESENT: Melissa Hofmann, Chairman Darcy Battye, Vice Chairman

James Mello, Secretary Keith Wentworth Judd Wardell Sandra Tremblay

Lori Jahoda Donna Skaats (7:03PM)

ABSENT: Stephen Nelson

ALSO PRESENT: Superintendent of Schools Janet Tyler; Lebanon Special Education Director Sandye Simon; Lebanon Middle School Principal Robert Laskarzewski; Lyman High School Principal Stephen Salisbury; Lebanon Elementary School Interim Principal Bonnie Hanna, Business Manager Eve Spencer.

I. CALL TO ORDER

Melissa Hofmann called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM at the Lebanon Middle School Media Center at 891 Exeter Road, Lebanon, CT. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by all in attendance.

II. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION – BYLAWS OF THE BOARD #9300

Public participation – 30 minutes; Individual speaker – 2 minutes

No public participation.

III. REPORT OF THE SUPERINTENDENT/DISCUSS AND ACT UPON

1. Discuss 2012-2013 Budget

Superintendent Tyler provided the Board with a document identifying possible ramifications of a zero percent increase to the Board of Education budget.

IV. ACTION ITEMS

DISCUSS AND ACT UPON

- 1. A motion was made by K. Wentworth and seconded by J. Mello to approve Phase 2 of the LMS Drainage Modification Project to include \$33,990 to Cunningham Construction, \$8,500 (25% contingency to cover unforeseen issues including ledge with storm trench estimate 90 CY @ \$75/CY), \$5,000 for Construction Administrative fees for a total of \$48,000 pre-approved by the Board of Finance on 03/22/2012 to be paid through the Town Contingency Fund.
 - Motion passed unanimously.
- A motion was made by D. Skaats and seconded by K. Wentworth to approve a full maintenance boiler contract with EMCOR Mechanical Services for FY 2012-2013 for the amount of \$13,730.00.
 Motion passed unanimously.

V. ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by L. Jahoda and seconded by D. Battye to adjourn at 7:17PM. **Motion passed unanimously.**

Respectfully submitted by, M. Hofmann, Chair