PISTOL PERMITS ARE PROCESSED BY APPOINTMENT
AT THE FIRST SELECTMAN’S OFFICE

How to Apply (NEW STATE PROCESS EFFECTIVE JULY 2021)

e Obtain application and schedule appointment: Permits applications are processed with
the Selectman's Office. You may schedule an appointment by calling 860-642-6100 or by
emailing bdennler@lebanonct.gov

e Complete and notarize application form (see file attachment at bottom of page) along
with all specified identification. Notary services may not be consistently available at Town Hall
due to changed COVID19 operations. Most banks also have a notary on staff, and they may or
may not charge a fee. Do not fill out the “declaration” section of the back page of this document
until you are in the presence of a notary. Bring the following with you when you apply:

O Check, cash, or money order in the amount of $70.00 Made out to “The Town
of Lebanon”

O Drivers License (must present the original at time of application)
O Hand Gun Safety Course Certificate
O Birth Certificate or Passport

e Sign fingerprint privacy rights documents: The privacy rights requirement can be
downloaded here and reviewed ahead of time. You must sign and date both documents at the
bottom and return them to the Selectman's Office. Once your privacy rights documents and
application packet are received, you will be given a pre-enrollment code. These documents are
also available in-person at Town Hall.

e Pre-enroll with Connecticut Criminal History Request System
(CCHRS) online: You must use the pre-enrollment code provided by the Selectman's Office
to enroll. This is required to obtain your fingerprints. You must pay the state two fees of
$75.00 and $13.25 for processing of your fingerprints at this time. You will be given a barcode
which you must bring with you to your fingerprinting destination.

o Complete state fingerprint process: Electronic scans can be obtained at Troop Kin
Colchester and will be submitted directly by the fingerprinting agency. Background checks will
typically be returned in less than eight weeks.

After your background check is received, you will be notified when your Temporary Local Pistol
Permit is ready to be picked up. The Temporary Permit must be picked up and signed in-person by the
applicant with a current photo ID.

Temporary Local Pistol Permits are valid for 60 days and cannot be renewed. You must reapply to
local authority if expired without obtaining your State Permit. Your Temporary Permit is valid to carry
firearms only — NOT valid for purchase of firearms.

Please contact the Selectmen’s Office at 860-642-6100, or email BDENNLER@LEBANONCT.GOV to
schedule your appointment or if you have questions. Walk-ins will be accommodated based on
availability of staff authorized to process the applications.
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7/30/2018 Summary of Gun Legislation

WHO CANNOT LEGALLY POSSESS, CARRY, OR GET CREDENTIALS FOR HANDGUNS
UNDER STATE LAW

Anyone who wants to possess or carry handguns or get an eligibility certificate or permit
to carry them in Connecticut must complete a DPS-approved handgun safety and use
course, and undergo state and national criminal history record checks. With regard to the
permit, the local official (who issues temporary permits to permit applicants) must
consider if the applicant (1) wants the firearm for lawful purposes and (2) is a suitable
person to get a permit. The law does not define suitability, which is left to the official's
discretion (CGS § 29-28(b).

The following people cannot possess handguns or get the credentials—illegal aliens and
anyone:

1. discharged from custody in the preceding 20 years after a finding of not guilty of a crime
by reason of mental disease or defect;

2. confined by the probate court to a mental hospital in the 12 months before applying for a
permit or certificate;

3. convicted of a serious juvenile offense;
4. subject to a firearm seizure order issued after notice and a hearing;

5. prohibited under federal law from possessing or shipping firearms because they were
adjudicated as mental defectives or committed to a mental institution (except in cases where
the Treasury Department grants relief from this disability);

6. under a protective or restraining order for using or threatening to use force and in the
case of possession, he or she knows about the order and if the order was issued in-state, he
or she was notified and given a hearing opportunity; or

7. convicted of any felony or specified misdemeanors (CGS §§ 29-28, 29-36f and 53a-217c).
Disqualifying misdemeanors are:

1. criminally negligent homicide (excluding deaths caused by motor vehicles) (CGS § 53a-
58);

2. third-degree assault (CGS § 53a-61);

3. third-degree assault of a blind, elderly, pregnant, or mentally retarded person (CGS §
S53a-61a);

4. second-degree threatening (CGS § 53a-62);

5. first-degree reckless endangerment (CGS § 53a-63);
6. second-degree unlawful restraint (CGS § 53a-96);
7. first-degree riot (CGS § 53a-175);

8. second-degree riot (CGS § 53a-176);
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9. inciting to riot (CGS § 53a-178);
10. second-degree stalking (CGS § 53a-181d); and

11. first offense involving possession of (a) controlled or hallucinogenic substances (other
than a narcotic substance or marijuana) or (b) less than four ounces of a cannabis-type

substance (CGS § 21a-279(c)).
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STATE OF CONNECTICUT

DEPARTMENT OF EMERGENCY SERVICES AND PUBLIC PROTECTION
DIVISION OF STATE POLICE
Special Licensing and Firearms Unit

PISTOL PERMIT/ELIGIBILITY CERTIFICATE APPLICATION

(Pursuant to C.G.S. §§ 29-28 et. seq., 29-36 et. seq., and 53a-217 et. seq.)

Before completing this application, it is suggested that you review the Connecticut General Statutes pertaining to
firearms. These can be accessed on the Internet at www.cga.ct.qov or through your local library.

Type of Permit Requested:

Check Box:

[] 60 Day Temporary State Pistol Permit
[ 1 Non-Resident State Pistol Permit

[] Eligibility Certificate to Purchase Pistols or Revolvers
[] Eligibility Certificate to Purchase Long Guns

Instructions:

Instructions for State Pistol Permits:

Instructions for Non-Resident
State Pistol Permits:

Instructions for Eligibility
Certificates to Purchase Pistols
or Revolvers and/or Eligibility
Certificates to Purchase Long
Guns:

1.

3.

Complete this form (DPS-799-C) and submit to
appropriate local authority (local police, resident
state trooper or first select person, as applicable)
along with all of the following:

= Firearms Safety & Use Course Certificate;

= $70.00, fee, payable to the local authority;
and

= Proof you are legally and lawfully in the
United States (e.g., certified copy of birth
certificate, U.S. passport or documentation
issued by I.C.E.).

. Submit fingerprints for a criminal history check

through a law enforcement agency. Fees include
a $75.00 fee and a $13.25 fee, payable at the
agency where the prints are taken. Fees must be
paid by separate checks.

Upon approval, the local authority will issue a
Temporary State Permit to Carry Pistols and
Revolvers (DPS-11-C), effective for 60 days.

. Within the 60 day period, go to a DESPP,

Division of State Police, pistol permit location and
submit the following:

= The Temporary State Permit to Carry Pistols
and Revolvers (DPS-11-C) issued by the
local authority;

= A completed Application for State Permit to
Carry Pistols and Revolvers (DPS-46-C);

= $70.00 fee, payable to Treasurer, State of
Connecticut;

= Proof you are legally and lawfully in the
United States (e.g., certified copy of birth
certificate, U.S. passport or documentation
issued by I.C.E.); and

= Proof of valid state issued photo identification
card.

*CALL DESPP FOR PACKET**
You must hold a valid permit or
license to carry a pistol or revolver
issued by a recognized United States
jurisdiction.

Complete this form and submit to
DESPP, Division of State Police, pistol
permit location along with all of the
following:

= Completed State of CT and Federal
fingerprint card with $75.00 fee and
$13.25 fee, payable to Treasurer,
State of Connecticut for criminal
history background checks;

= Firearms Safety & Use Course
Certificate;

= $70.00 fee, payable to Treasurer,
State of Connecticut;

» Completed Application for State
Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers
form (DPS-46-C);

» Completed DPS-129-C signed and
notarized and 2x2 color photograph
(passport style);

= Copy of the permit or license to carry
a pistol or revolver issued to you by a
recognized United States jurisdiction;

= Proof you are legally and lawfully in
the United States (e.g., certified copy
of birth certificate, U.S. passport or
documentation issued by I.C.E.);and

= Proof of valid state issued photo
identification card.

Out of State Pistol Permit Information:

State of Issue:

Expiration Date:

1. Complete this form and submit in
person at DESPP Headquarters,
Division of State Police, located at
1111 Country Club Road,
Middletown, Connecticut along with
the below:

= Firearms Safety & Use Course
Certificate;

= $35.00 fee, payable to
Treasurer, State of
Connecticut;

=  Application for a State Eligibility
Certificate for a Pistol or
Revolver or for Long Guns
(DPS-164-C);

= Proof you are legally and
lawfully in the United States
(e.g., certified copy of birth
certificate, U.S. passport or
documentation issued by
I.C.E.); and

=  Proof of valid state issued photo

identification card.

2. Submit fingerprints for a criminal
history check through a law
enforcement agency. Fees include a
$75.00 fee and a $13.25 fee, payable
at the agency where the prints are
taken. Fees must be paid by separate
checks.

3. Upon approval, your photograph will
be taken at DESPP and you will be
issued an eligibility certificate.

5. Upon approval, your photograph will be taken at

DESPP and you will be issued a state pistol permit. | Permit Number:

For Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP), Division of State Police, pistol permit locations, access
www.ct.gov/despp and follow the link to the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit or call (860) 685-8290. Note: All payments must
be made with separate checks.
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STATE OF CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF EMERGENCY SERVICES AND PUBLIC PROTECTION
DIVISION OF STATE POLICE

Contact / Identifying Information:

Name of Applicant

e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e L

COOOOOOOO0OOOOOOO0000000 .

Provide all other names by which you have been known (Maiden name, Aliases, Nicknames, etc.)
(Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary)

Date of Birth Sex Height Weight Eye Color

CIC VO VOO TR v x| et LD e | IO Jews. | 1 Brown  [1Blue [ Black
Month/Day/Year [l Green []Gray []Hazel

Race Hair Color

[ Iwhite [ _]American Indian/Alaskan Native [ |Asian/Pacific Islander []Brown []Black []Blonde []Red

[ IBlack  [_]Junknown [ Jother []Gray []white []Bald

Place of Birth Social Security Number (Optional, but will help

|:||:| |:||:| |:||:| |:||:| |:||:| |:||:| |:||:| |:||:| |:||:| |:||:| |:||:| prevent misidentification)

Ciy/Town "see (L]

Country of Citizenship Alien Reg. Number (If applicable)

OOOOOOO000000000000 | 0000000

Residential Address (List street address. Post office box numbers are not acceptable)

N v I I

gﬁ:@ﬁDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD, gteD Z@QEDD-DDDD

List Residential Addresses for the Last 7 Years (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary)
*Any subsequent changes of address must be reported within 48 hours to the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit
1.

2.

Mailing Address (If different from current residential address above)

DDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD

Number/Street

Lo oeee, e oo e - e e

City/Town State Zip Code

Home Telephone Number Motor Vehicle Operator’s License Number

(B O /I O

Area Code State of Issue
Alternate Telephone Number

O O S [

Area Code

Employment History:

List Employers for the Last 7 Years (Provide employer's name, address and telephone number)
(Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary)
1.

2.

Permit or Eligibility Certificate History:

Have you had a firearms permit, permit application or eligibility certificate of any kind from ANY jurisdiction in the
United States denied, suspended or revoked? [ I[NO []YES

If "YES,” provide:

1. Identify the jurisdiction which issued the denial, suspension or revocation:
2. Date of denial, suspension or revocation:

3. The reason for the denial, suspension or revocation:
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STATE OF CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF EMERGENCY SERVICES AND PUBLIC PROTECTION
DIVISION OF STATE POLICE

Medical History:

Have you been confined in a hospital for mental illness in the past sixty (60) months by order of a Probate Court?
[INO [JYES If"YES," explain: (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary)

Have you been discharged from custody within the past twenty years after having been found not guilty of a crime
by reason of a mental disease or defect? [ [NO [ JYES
If "YES," explain: (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary)

Have you been voluntarily admitted to a hospital for mental iliness within the past six (6) months for reasons other
than solely for alcohol or drug dependence? [ INO []YES
If "YES," explain: (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary)

Notice: DESPP herein notifies the applicant that, pursuant to C.G.S. §§ 29-28 through 29-38b, DESPP will be notified by the
Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services if the applicant has been confined to a hospital for psychiatric
disabilities within the preceding sixty (60) months by order of Probate Court, or if the applicant has been voluntarily admitted
to a hospital for mental illness within the past six (6) months for reasons other than solely for alcohol or drug dependence.

Criminal History:

Have you ever been ARRESTED for any crime, in any jurisdiction? [ INO [ IYES If "YES," list all arrests, indicating
charges, locations, dates of arrest and dispositions. (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary)

Notice: You are not required to disclose the existence of any arrest, criminal charge or conviction, the records of which have
been erased pursuant to C.G.S. §§46b-146, 54-760, or 54-142a. If your criminal records have been erased pursuant to one of
these statutes, you may swear under oath that you have never been arrested. Criminal records that may be erased are records
pertaining to a finding of delinquency or that a child was a member of a family with service needs (C.G.S. 46b-146), an
adjudication as a youthful offender (C.G.S. 54-760), a criminal charge that has been dismissed or nolled, a criminal charge for
which the person has been found not guilty, or a conviction for which the person received an absolute pardon (C.G.S. 54-
142a).

With regard to criminal history information arising from jurisdictions other than the State of Connecticut: You are not required
to disclose the existence of any arrest, criminal charge or conviction, the records of which have been erased pursuant to the
law of the other jurisdiction. Additionally, you are not required to disclose the existence of an arrest arising from another
jurisdiction if you are permitted under the law of that jurisdiction to swear under oath that you have never been arrested.

Have you ever been CONVICTED under the laws of this state, federal law or the laws of another jurisdiction?
[INO [YES If "YES,’ list all convictions, include charges, location, date of arrest, and disposition. (Attach additional
sheet(s), if necessary)

Are you currently on probation, parole, work release, in an alcohol and/or drug treatment program or other pre-trial
diversionary program or currently released on personal recognizance, a written promise to appear or a bail bond for
a pending court case? [ INO [JYES If"YES," explain. (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary)

Within the past five (5) years, have you been the subject of a Protective Order or Restraining Order issued by a court
in a case involving the use, attempted use or threatened use of physical force against another person, regardless of
the outcome or result of any related criminal case? [ JNO []YES

If “YES,” which court issued the order?

Military History:

Were you ever a member of the Armed Forces of the United States? [ INO []YES (If yes, please include a copy of your DD-214)

Were you ever discharged from the Armed Forces of the United States with a less than Honorable Discharge? [[INO []YES
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STATE OF CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF EMERGENCY SERVICES AND PUBLIC PROTECTION
DIVISION OF STATE POLICE

Proof of Training:

*Attach a copy of the letter or certificate attesting that you have completed a course in the safety and use of pistols and
revolvers or long guns (as appropriate, depending upon which permit or certificate you are requesting), signed by the instructor
of the course.

Instructor: (Check applicable box)

[INational Rifle Association
[ IDepartment of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP)
[]Other:

State Instructor's Name and ID Number:

Declaration:

| understand that any false statement herein, which | do not believe to be true and which is intended to mislead a public
servant in the performance of his or her official function, is punishable by law (See C.G.S. § 53a-157b). | further understand
that any statement in this application that is determined to be false or inaccurate shall constitute grounds for the denial of
such application. If approved before the facts are known, such approval shall be void if based on a false or inaccurate
statement. My signature below attests to the accuracy, completeness and to the truth of all information supplied on this
application:

| declare, under the penalties of false statement, that the answers to the above are true and correct.

Date Signed
STATE OF
Print Name
COUNTY OF
Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of 20
Name:

Notary Public
My Commission Expires:
Commissioner of Superior Court

NOTICE: Appeal Process for Permits

In the event that your application for pistol permit or eligibility certificate is denied or revoked, you may notify the
Board of Firearms Permit Examiners, at 165 Capitol Ave., Suite 1070, Hartford, CT 06106. Telephone: (860)
256-2947, in writing, within ninety (90) days, in order to begin your appeal process. At a hearing before the
Board, you may request that your application be reconsidered or that your permit or eligibility certificate be
reinstated.

For Official Use Only:

Application Received: FBI Sent: [ INo [ ]Yes Application Status:

FBI Reply: [ INo [lyes .
DD/DD/DDDD ICE Response: |:|No |:|Yes |:|Approved |:|Den|ed
Month/Day/Year DMHAS: |:|No |:|Yes

SPBI: [INo [ves (Signature and title of issuing authority)

Number :
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Requesting Entity: LEBANON TOWN HALL

FBI Privacy Act Statement

Authority: The FBI’s acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and associated information is
generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534. Depending on the nature of your application, supplemental
authorities include Federal statutes, State statutes pursuant to Pub. L. 92-544, Presidential Executive Orders,
and federal regulations. Providing your fingerprints and associated information is voluntary; however, failure to
do so may affect completion or approval of your application.

Principal Purpose: Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security clearances, may be
predicated on fingerprint-based background checks. Your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics
may be provided to the employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency, and/or the FBI for the
purpose of comparing your fingerprints to other fingerprints in the FBI’s Next Generation Identification (NGI)
system or its successor systems (including civil, criminal, and latent fingerprint repositories) or other available
records of the employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency. The FBI may retain your fingerprints
and associated information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of this application and, while retained, your
fingerprints may continue to be compared against other fingerprints submitted to or retained by NGI.

Routine Uses: During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your fingerprints and
associated information/biometrics are retained in NGI, your information may be disclosed pursuant to your
consent, and may be disclosed without your consent as permitted by the Privacy Act of 1974 and all applicable
Routine Uses as may be published at any time in the Federal Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI
system and the FBI’s Blanket Routine Uses. Routine uses include, but are not limited to, disclosures to:
employing, governmental or authorized non-governmental agencies responsible for employment, contracting,
licensing, security clearances, and other suitability determinations; local, state, tribal, or federal law
enforcement agencies; criminal justice agencies; and agencies responsible for national security or public safety.

As of 03/30/2018

Note: This privacy act statement is located on the back of the FD-258 fingerprint card.

SIGNATURE DATE

This document must be retained by the Entity.
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Noncriminal Justice Applicant’s Privacy Rights

Requesting Entity: LEBANON TOWN HALL

As an applicant who is the subject of a national fingerprint-based criminal history record check for a noncriminal justice purpose (such
as an application for employment or a license, an immigration or naturalization matter, security clearance, or adoption), you have
certain rights which are discussed below. All notices must be provided to you in writing. * These obligations are pursuant to the
Privacy Act of 1974, Title 5, United States Code (U.S.C.) Section 552a, and Title 28 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), 50.12,
among other authorities.

* You must be provided an adequate written FBI Privacy Act Statement (dated 2013 or later), by the agency that will receive your
criminal history results, when you submit your fingerprints and associated personal information. This Privacy Act Statement must
explain the authority for collecting your fingerprints and associated information and whether your fingerprints and associated
information will be searched, shared, or retained. 2

* You must be advised in writing of the procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or update of your FBI criminal history record as
set forth at 28 CFR 16.34.

* You must be provided the opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy of the information in your FBI criminal history record
(if you have such a record).

« If you have a criminal history record, you should be afforded a reasonable amount of time to correct or complete the record (or
decline to do so) before the officials deny you the employment, license, or other benefit based on information in the FBI criminal
history record.

* If agency policy permits, the officials may provide you with a copy of your FBI criminal history record for review and possible
challenge. If agency policy does not permit it to provide you a copy of the record, you may obtain a copy of the record by submitting
fingerprints and a fee to the FBI. Information regarding this process may be obtained at https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-
history-summary-checks and https://www.edo.cjis.gov.

* If you decide to challenge the accuracy or completeness of your FBI criminal history record, you should send your challenge to the
agency that contributed the questioned information to the FBI. Alternatively, you may send your challenge directly to the FBI by
submitting a request via https://www.edo.cjis.gov. The FBI will then forward your challenge to the agency that contributed the
questioned information and request the agency to verify or correct the challenged entry. Upon receipt of an official communication
from that agency, the FBI will make any necessary changes/corrections to your record in accordance with the information supplied by
that agency. (See 28 CFR 16.30 through 16.34.)

* You have the right to expect that officials receiving the results of the criminal history record check will use it only for authorized
purposes and will not retain or disseminate it in violation of federal statute, regulation or executive order, or rule, procedure or
standard established by the National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Council.®

Updated 11/6/2019
If you need additional information or assistance, please contact:
Connecticut Records: Out-of-State Records:
Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection State Agency of Record
Police Bureau of Identification (SPBI) OR
1111 Country Club Road FBI CJIS Division-Summary Request
Middletown, CT 06457 1000 Custer Hollow Road
860-685-8480 Clarksburg, West Virginia 26306

SIGNATURE DATE

This document must be retained by the Entity.

1 Written notification includes electronic notification, but excludes oral notification.

2 See https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/compact-council/privacy-act-statement

3 See 5 U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 34 U.S.C. § 40316 (formerly cited as 42 U.S.C. § 14616), Article 1V(c); 28 CFR 20.21(c), 20.33(d)
and 906.2(d).
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