

## Town of Lebanon Village Business District Design Review Board SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES June 1, 2021

Jonathan Trumbull Library Tent, 580 Exeter Road

Members Present:	Jason Nowosad, Chair
	Ellen Macauley
	Jean Reichard
	Jim Russo
Members Absent:	Dennis Goderre
	William Landon
	Steven Zickmann
Also Present:	Philip Chester, AICP, Town Planner
	Kevin Cwikla, First Selectman
	Matt Earls, Library Director
	Brandon Handfield, PE, Yantic River Consultants
	Keith LaPorte, Planning and Zoning Commission member
	Kevin Lipe, AIA, Jacunski Humes Architects
	Berkeley Nowosad, Library Building Committee member
	Jonathan Sczurek, PE, Megson & Heagle Civil Engineers
	Kathleen Smith, Selectman

- I. Mr. Nowosad called the meeting to order at 5:02.
- II. Library Building Committee, Jonathan Trumbull Library, 580 Exeter Road, Revised Library Addition Plans.

Jim Russo and Kevin Lipe presented the Library landscaping and lighting plans and the revised north building elevation. Jonathan Sczurek presented the revised library site plan, including the proposed pedestrian linkage to the Community Center and Alden Tavern parking lot, proposed exterior pedestrian linkages from the lower library level to the upper level, parking layout, and grading. Kevin Lipe noted that the handicapped ramp length was reduced from 28 to 24 feet length and the number of steps into the building from 5 to 4.

The Design Review Board members discussed the plans and recommended adding two (2) trees along Route 87 at the parking lot and made the following motions and recommendations:

- 1. Motion by Jason Nowosad, seconded by Jean Reichard, to recommended removing the proposed shutters on the library building. Motion approved 3-0-1, with Jim Russo abstaining.
- 2. Motion by Ellen Macauley, seconded by Jason Nowosad, to recommend pedestrian walkways be a dyed color concrete surface. Motion approved 3-0-1, with Jim Russo abstaining.
- 3. Motion by Jason Nowosad, seconded by Jean Reichard, to recommend the elimination of handicapped ramp rails and to center front doorway. Motion denied 2-2-0, with Ellen Macauley and Jim Russo opposed.
- III. The Board adjourned at 6:07 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Philip S. Chester, AICP June 2, 2021