Conservation & Agriculture Commission

On March 5, 2012, Town meeting dissolved the former Conservation Commission which was originally formed at a Town Meeting on March 7, 1972 and replaced it with a new Conservation and Agriculture Commission. The new commission was authorized by ordinance passed at that meeting.

The charge of the commission is in part: "The Commission shall extol the role of Lebanon's natural resources and agriculture as major contributors to the Town’s quality of life and the economy. The Commission will advocate for conservation and agricultural issues before non-profit agencies, civic organizations, municipal boards and commissions, elected officials and residents. All appointments shall be made by the Board of Selectmen." For a full description, see the ordinance (link in menu).

The Commission shall consist of 7 Regular Members and 3 alternate members. The original regular members shall serve for the following terms: 

  • Two for one year terms
  • Two for two year terms
  • Three for three year terms

Thereafter, each regular shall be re-appointed to serve for three years.

In 2015, Lebanon was awarded Community of the Year by the CT Chapter of the American Planning Association “in recognition of its on-going efforts to preserve its agricultural-based economy and town character.”

 Contact the Conservation and Agriculture Commission

Staff Contacts

Name Title
Philip Chester Town Planner

Commission Members

Name Title
Marc Lang (D) Chairman (04/01/2024)
Keith LaPorte (D) Member (04/01/2024)
Ethan Stearns (R) Member (04/01/2022)
Jan Fitter (U) Vice Chairman (04/01/2023)
Alton Blodgett (R) Member (04/01/2024)
Emery Gluck (D) Member (04/01/2022)
John Slate (D) Member (04/01/2023)
Vacant Position Alternate (04/01/2021)
Dennis Goderre (U) Alternate (04/01/2023)
Michael Wolf Student Representative
Marc Wolf (U) Alternate (04/01/2022)