Motor Vehicles

Motor Vehicles that were actively registered on October 1st of each year at the CT Department of Motor Vehicles will have a motor vehicle property tax bill that will be due in full in July. All delinquent motor vehicle bills will be reported to the Department of Motor Vehicles per SS 14-33 once delinquent and will also be subject to a $2 fee for this process.

Motor Vehicles registered between October 2nd and July 31st will be due and payable in January. Those supplemental bills will be mailed out in December.

Connecticut law requires all Connecticut residents with a vehicle registration, driver's license, or non-driver identification card to notify the DMV within 48 hours of any change of address. If you need to change your mailing address and/or tax town at the DMV, please go to the following link: DMV Address Change. You can also mail a completed form to DMV at 60 State Street, Wethersfield, CT 06161-5070. We cannot change your address here in the tax office. Please remember that if you fail to do this not only will you not receive future tax bills, but your registration renewal may not be forwarded by the Post Office. Connecticut law also requires taxpayers that move into CT up to 90 days to register your out of state vehicle to a CT registered vehicle. Please visit the DMV website for further information.

If you need to cancel a registration please go to the following link: Registration cancellation. Once you have completed the on-line or manual Terminate Registration, please print the confirmation receipt for your records and inform the Lebanon Assessor's office, additional forms may be needed in order to adjust/delete a bill (See Assessor's Page for more details).

If your motor vehicle was:

  • sold
  • repossessed
  • totaled
  • donated
  • stolen
  • registered out-of-state (if you have moved)
  • taxed in wrong town

Please contact the Assessor's Office for more information at (860) 642-6141. Thank you.